Please read all information below.
Once your account is disabled it will not be reopened to
retrieve files that were left behind.
When a staff member leaves the district their Google account is disabled. Any files you want to keep or have shared with other users will no longer be accessible to you or to the collaborators after the end of your final day. Below are some procedures you'll want to follow well ahead of your last day with GCISD. These procedures can take days or weeks depending on the volume of data. Please allow ample time.
There are two ways to handle files that you have shared with others or that you have created for the district: transfer ownership of the file to another GCISD user or copy the files to a Google Shared Drive (best option in most cases.)
IMPORTANT: Do not share your files with your personal Google account as a method of transferring them. You will not be able to make your personal account the owner of the files and you will lose access to them once your account is disabled.
Transfer Ownership To Another GCISD User
Transferring ownership of the file is as simple as opening the share settings like you did when you originally shared the file then changing one of the editors to be the owner. Once you do this, you will still have access as an editor until your account is disabled.
NOTE: Transferring ownership has to be done PER FILE. If you change ownership of a shared folder it does not change the ownership of the enclosed files.
Google Shared Drive
Any staff can create a Google Shared Drive, add members, then copy files to that drive. This is a great way to share your files with your supervisor (for example) or other staff members. The files in a Shared Drive are owned by the drive itself and not an individual user so they're not at risk if a user leaves the District.
Below is a link for how to create a Shared Drive. Don't be intimidated by the amount of information... it's as easy as creating a folder and sharing it with another user but just looks a little different in that process.
NOTE: At this time users are only able to transfer files to a Shared Drive, not folders. However, you can create folders in the Shared Drive and move files into them. Google is supposed to offer an option for this in the future.
If you are the owner of a Google site that will continue to be used by your team, you must transfer the ownership of that site and the associated files prior to leaving or the site will have to be rebuilt. To transfer ownership, click on the settings and change one of the editors to be the owner. If you don't have another editor, simply add someone as an editor and save. You should then be able to go back in to settings again and change that editor to an owner. If you have a problem with changing ownership of a Google site, please submit a help ticket.
Content You Want To Keep
Google doesn't have a simple way to transfer everything from your district account to a personal account but there are a few ways to get the information you want downloaded so you can import it into a personal account or save to your personal computer before leaving the district.
We suggest selecting only the documents you really want to keep then download them directly to your personal computer. Alternatively, you can download them to your district computer then copy them to an external flash drive for uploading to your personal Google, Dropbox, or other account. This can take quite a long time depending on the volume of data. Please allow ample time for file transfers.
IMPORTANT: Content created by anyone other than yourself or files containing student information are the property of GCISD and are not to be downloaded or transferred in any way to a personal account.
Contacts can be exported from the menu option in the sidebar then re-imported into your personal Google or Apple Contacts.
Forward any mails you want to keep to your personal account or "print" them to PDF and download the PDF file to your personal computer. To save to PDF, click the printer icon at the top right of the email.
In the next window, be sure it says Save as PDF then click Save. You'll be given the opportunity to name the file and select a location to save it.
- IMPORTANT INFO:
Do not share your files with your personal Google account as a method of transferring them. You will not be able to make your personal account the owner of the files and you will lose access to them once your account is disabled.
- We recommend you delete any personal files from your Google Drive prior to leaving the district.
- Depending on your position, we also suggest that 2 weeks before your last day you set an auto-reply on your email indicating you will no longer be with the GCISD after a particular date and include information on who to contact after that time.
Downloading Your Eduphoria Workshop Records
If you have questions about this please submit a help ticket and we'll do our best to assist you. We wish you the best in your next adventure!