Google Shared Drives is a great way to share files and collaborate with your team. The files in a Shared Drive are owned by the drive itself and not an individual user so they're not at risk if a user leaves the District.
Below is a link for how to create a Shared Drive. It's as easy as creating a folder and sharing it with another user but just looks a little different in that process. Currently staff are able to create Shared Drives however this may change to a managed process later in the summer.
At this time users are only able to move files to a Shared Drive and not folders (a Google restriction.) If you only have a handful of files to move then great! Just drag them over to the shared drive and they will move. If you already have folders of documents organized in your Drive that you'd like to move to a Shared Drive, please follow the steps below. This is a temporary workaround to make it easier during this initial migration of collaborative documents.
Only collaborative and shared files should be moved to a Shared Drive. The Shared Drive function is not to be used as additional storage of "memorabilia" such as images/videos of years past or files that are not shared or not currently being used for instruction. Those items should be archived to a personal cloud storage or device. Please refer to the Spring Cleaning help file.
1. Create a folder in your own Google Drive named Move to XXX (with XXX being the name of the share drive.) Please note that the Shared Drive must already exist. If it doesn't, you'll need to create it and add the appropriate members.
2. Move all the files and folders that you want to have in the Shared Drive into the "Move to XXX" folder. Do not change any of the existing share settings of any of the documents/folders and it's ok if other users that are part of the share pool are owners of some of the files/folders.
IMPORTANT: Do not move shortcuts into the folder. Those are pointers to files or folders somewhere else on your Drive (or someone else's.) The shortcut will move to the shared drive but it's not moving the actual file. Shortcuts are easy to spot because they have a little arrow over the file icon:
3. Repeat steps #1 and #2 for each Shared Drive that you want to move files to.
4. Once you're finished, share the "Move to XXX" folder(s) with Diane Isbell.
5. Change ownership of the "Move to XXX" folder(s) to Diane Isbell. You do not need to remove yourself or anyone else from the share settings.
6. Create a help ticket for Diane Isbell indicating your folder is ready to be moved. Please note the name of the folder in the help ticket for documentation.
7. Diane is a Google admin and will be able to move the entire folder to the designated Shared Drive. As they move, you will see the files and folders disappear from your own Google Drive. In some cases (depending on how they're shared) you may be left with a shortcut to the files. You can delete that if you like or use it as a quick way to get to the file.
8. Once they're moved you can reorganize the files within the Shared Drive if needed.